R.R. Reno, editor of First Things, provides his insights into the Pope’s recent interview here: http://www.firstthings.com/onthesquare/2013/09/francis-our-jesuit-pope

He provides an honest look at what I see as an honest interview. There are good comments from readers as well.

My mother has warned me from time to time that I am a little too trusting, and sometimes too honest. She means, and I realize she is correct, I expect not only the best from everyone, but I expect the same honest, open zeal for truth and understanding from everybody. Obviously that expectation doesn’t hold up to scrutiny in the real world. Perhaps the Pope is expecting a bit too much from his readers. I’m okay with that. High expectations tend to be lived up to.

I like R.R. Reno’s take on the subject not only because he is a devoted Catholic, but he seems to have come to Catholicism late, only about a decade ago. Being Wesleyan, it is important to me to try to glimpse from the Pope from a genuine Catholic perspective, as much as may be possible, and Reno’s perspective seems arrived at after effort and soul-searching ardor. (I assume a lot here. I’m open to correction.)

The article is thorough and worth reading through thoroughly.

