I am proud of my firstborn.

suchmeagerinsight

Ode to the Military Child

“Guess what, Teacher?”

“I’m not moving after all!”

Instantaneous thoughts
Pull every scenario possible
Into my mind:
     How wonderful!
     But I had already
          prepared myself
          to be sad.
     Your friends will be
          so glad!
     We really don’t need
          the desk that
          badly, do we?
     I’d hoped to keep this one!

“April Fool’s!”

Sudden heartbreak
Makes my face fall again.
     That wasn’t funny.
          Not one
          little bit.

“I’m going to miss you,
Teacher.”

Automatically, but sincerely,
My lips begin to smile.
     “I’ll miss you, too.”

 

Happy April Fool’s Day! Happy Poetry Month! And Happy Military Child…

View original post 153 more words

