This Easter, reviewing Facebook items, I came across many comments celebrating Easter and life, and also the 19 April 1995 bombing here in Oklahoma City, and a couple of comments from our Oklahoma Blood Institute, to whom I donate regularly.

I wanted to specifically point out a comment from a friend, an Oklahoma State Senator (State House), Kyle Loveless.

He wrote (he makes boots and leather goods):

I was at the family business when we felt the explosion.

I had just got back from an errand and later found out had I been late I would have been cut up by broken glass of the store I visited.

We have a machine that literally weighs a ton, it shook and moved at the vibrations of the explosion of thee bomb at the Murrah building.

We went outside and thought a building gas line had exploded and it wasn’t too long before we got the news.

I remember getting the call from OKCPD asking of we could provide some leather for the search and rescue K-9 units because the rubble was too harsh for their paws. We stopped everything until we had the stuff they needed – my dad and I went down and delivered – I will never forget what I saw, what I smelt, what I witnessed,

I will never forget.

I’ve met many who helped that day. My family had not moved to OKC at that time. We were affected though, then and on to today.

Let us celebrate life. Death is always near. And, keep perspective: We all die young.

