I am struck that it seems to be Reform (as in John Calvin) teachers who are trying hard to reconcile faith with science.

Greg Cootsona is an associate pastor at Bidwell Presbyterian Church in Chico, California. (Home to my favorite meteorologist, Anthony Watts, since Gary England retired.) Anyway, he has written a short article about determinism.

http://cootsona.blogspot.com/2014/05/genetic-determinism-materialism-freedom.html

I’ve never understood the notion. If determinism is true, how could we tell? I mean, if my brain is determined to think by outside forces that I can in no wise control, how can I know I know anything at all?

Here is the fact: I am accountable. I will be judged, ultimately and in the absolute sense, and I can trust that I will be judged justly. There will be a day of reckoning, balancing the books. The fact is that there is such a thing as justice and right, and evil is so easy to understand because it too is real. Choose! You are responsible for your choices, so choose wisely.

I’m trying to internalize this fact into all I am and all I do. I hope you will do so too.

