They are closing the News9 debate as I begin this post.

Fundamentally, James Lankford is right. We cannot cut enough to stop increasing our debt as a nation quickly. Look at the numbers. We are not JUST talking dollars. We are talking about lives. Cutting defense hurts military families immediately. It hurts all kinds of contractors and government-related workers slowly but very significantly. Cutting welfare programs is necessary, but we have to do it slowly and sensibly, or people will literally be killed by the cuts. (As a consequence of the effects necessitated by the cuts.) The same for all the rest. The numbers are practically incomprehensible. James Lankford has about as great a grasp of the problem and how hard it is to get where we need to go as anyone I can think of.

James Lankford is right.

My respect for Mr. Lankford increased throughout the debate. I am confident that Senator Lankford will have an enduring and positive role in the history of the United States Senate.

Note, my respect for Mr. Shannon increased also.

However, I cannot support Mr. Shannon for Senate. I do not believe he will fit there. I do believe Mr. Shannon will make a good President of our United States. I believe his life experience and his political experience both suit him well for excelling as leader of the free world.

