Maybe this kiwi (New Zealander) has some worthwhile stuff, but I don’t find usefulness in John Hattie’s article here: http://visible-learning.org/2014/08/john-hattie-mind-frames-teachers/

It seems he is saying the average teacher is insecure and needs certain mindsets and needs certain reinforcement activities for self-assurance, which allow the teacher to stay positive and effective.

Here are his 8 points:

Hattie’s 8 Mind Frames

  1. My fundamental task is to evaluate the effect of my teaching on students’ learning and achievement.
  2. The success and failure of my students’ learning is about what I do or don’t do. I am a change agent.
  3. I want to talk more about learning than teaching.
  4. Assessment is about my impact.
  5. I teach through dialogue not monologue.
  6. I enjoy the challenge and never retreat to “doing my best”.
  7. It’s my role to develop positive relationships in class and staffrooms.
  8. I inform all about the language of learning.

Feelgood language at best.

I truly believe we adults, especially parents, but also teachers, are partners with the children. We are not their masters nor their change-agents. We are their coworkers, traveling companions on life’s journey. We have maturity and knowledge to impart. Perhaps that is what Hattie is aiming at, but all I see is mumbojumbo.

It seems counterproductive to emphasize to teachers that they should be paranoid about their effectiveness.

To me, Micah 6:8 sums it up. More specifically in context, you are the adult, you know what to teach, do so. Love the children and walk in mercy with them. Most of all, walk humbly with them.

It seems to me the fundamental task of the teacher is to love the children. 

Perhaps I miss some jargon, and perhaps not being in the teacher-culture I simply miss the point here, but I read these eight points and I see fluff, simple vapidness, and newspeak.

I’ve seldom found points lists to be useful. I see no value in this list of Hattie’s.

Like so much of the efforts for reform in education, this list seems to be aimed at showing something happening, rather than making sure the right things are done.

