Always worth reading, Pointman makes a clear and certainly true point.

JB Phillips wrote that “Your God is Too Small”. He was correct. My God is too small. With Job, I say, “Though he slay me, yet will I trust him.”

Somehow, there is so much more to it.

Mostly, Micah echos in my head, “Do justice, love mercy, walk humbly.”

We do no justice when green notions do so much harm. We forsake mercy when we coerce and foust our will and impose our ideals. We flaunt in pride when we are so confident in “what’s best.”

First, do no harm.

There are uses of adversity.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hC4Vbs57D8

Pointman's

A friend once turned to me on a day that had no mercy in it and said, “you’re right, there is no God.” We were both watching something slowly unfolding, something cold and just petrifying cruel which couldn’t be stopped by either of us. We couldn’t exert any control over it, we could only watch; emasculated observers at the final end of world extinction event of any residual hope about how low us human beings could really get. Pop, there they go, pop, pop, another couple of the buggers. Pop, pop, and poppety pop and yet a few more of them.

At the time and in a vague distracted sort of way, it broke my heart to see him lose his faith, because I loved him as only one man can love another and I’d always somehow relied on him to be the last unwavering believer in some sort of floor of decency that none of…

View original post 1,354 more words

