David Bentley Hart, writing for First Things [in 2012], praises good bad books.

If you take the time to read this, I’m sure you will be glad you did.

http://www.firstthings.com/article/2012/05/in-praise-of-good-bad-books

For me, the most important book of my childhood was Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time. Of course, I read all of CS Lewis’ fiction multiple times over. I didn’t read enough to have much of a list of good bad books. Still, Hart’s point is valid.

Don’t let the big words fool you; he is just being precise. (And showing off what he’s learned in his copious reading.)

Keep in mind that philistine, as an adjective, indicates disdain, or at least indifference, for culture and norms. He uses it fittingly, at least for nearly all children.

The the article explains Tharks, they are from the mind of Edgar Rice Burroughs, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tharks.

Isn’t it nice to be able to right-click something and have a page open with Google results? (At least in Chrome.)

It is an encouraging article, and it encourages us to encourage our children and youths to be avid readers. {I trust you noticed I only used “encourage” once, there. 😉 }

