Paying careful attention usually results in correct observations.

Watts Up With That?

Guest Post by Willis Eschenbach

Back in 2010 I wrote a post called “Walking the Plank-ton“. In that post I baldly stated that claims of a 40% loss in plankton since 1950 were totally bogus. However, I also admitted that I didn’t know why or where they’d made a mistake, and I really had no data to show that they were wrong.

phytoplanktonFigure 1. Global distribution of phytoplankton. Lowest concentration is purple and blue, middle concentration is green, highest concentration is yellow and red. Source

So I was overjoyed today to find an article entitled Ocean’s hidden green plankton revealed by fixing glitch in model. The article totally agreed with me, saying that the claims of a 40% loss in plankton were indeed bogus. The conclusion of the article was:

In other words, estimates of plankton death were previously exaggerated more than sixfold in much of the oceans.

View original post 335 more words

