Weighty, insightful, straight, I could add more.

I found the article and many of the comments well worth my time.

We engineers tend to focus on what works. What doesn’t work is Green policy and politics, as Willis has so often pointed out.

I found it worth reading, and worth rereading. It is good to think things through deeply.

As to morality, I think the Hebrew prophet Micah got it best:
You know, meer mortal what is good. God has shown it to you. So, live justly, love mercy, and walk humbly.

Honesty and openness follow from that. Liberty and minding own business follow from that. In short, it works.

Watts Up With That?

Guest essay by Leo Smith

Introduction

I decided to pen this, not because I am a ‘philosopher of climate change’ like the esteemed Rupert Read, whose self styled ‘philosophy of climate change’ is really a thinly disguised justification for Green politics, but because it appears to me that very very few people in the climate change business, actually understand why they need to understand a little philosophy to enable them to judge the climate change phenomenon – the social phenomenon that is – in a suitable context.

I am not a trained philosopher. I am an engineer, by training, but that was just a job. I have always retained a curiosity about other things, and part of that curiosity led me to try and understand the issues of philosophy as a part of something else I was engaged in, which has no bearing here.

I was moved to write this…

View original post 4,985 more words

